What’s in your kitchen junk drawer?

This is my “junk drawer”.

Junk Drawer
Junk Drawer

I actually have four “junk” drawers in my kitchen. These are handy, catch-all drawers for odds and ends. In this one, I have a pack of gum, candle, shoe polish, black shoelaces, batteries, flash light, re-usable bag, tape measure, lint brush, screwdrivers, scissors and tape.

Personal organizing expert, Elizabeth Larkin, has five easy steps to de-clutter your top drawers. Larkin’s tips include:

1. Keep what you need and purge what you don’t.

2. Sort and group similar items together.

3. Determine your storage needs.

4. Arrange your items.

5. Repeat steps 1-4 on a regular basis.

Do you have a junk drawer? What’s in it? How often do you clean out your catch-all drawer?

6 thoughts on “What’s in your kitchen junk drawer?

  1. Hmm… not sure how many junk drawers I have (read: too many). After I slip in a few items that don’t belong, a drawer begins to become an automatic catch-all for me! Yes, I’ll have to undertake the 5 step program soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a lot of junk in mine as well. It ranges from restaurant menus, to screwdrivers and measuring tape, lighters, candles. It would seem like the drawer is bottomless with the amount of stuff I fit in there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

