To renovate or not to renovate?

The little voice in the back of my head keeps nagging me. About ‘what’ you ask. Whether or not to renovate the basement bathroom?

When I bought this house in 2010 I had mapped out a detailed five-year renovation plan.

My plan included painting the entire house from top to bottom, replacing all but one light fixture (the only one I liked), retiling the main bathroom floor, installing crown moulding and wainscoting in the living room and dining room, removing the old deck in the backyard and replacing it with a stone patio, as well as renovating the basement bathroom.

The list is almost finished. But there is still one item left on the ‘To Do’ list without a check mark next to it. The basement bathroom.

Do I want to go from this?

Current bathroom
Current bathroom

To this?

Designer bathroom
Designer bathroom

Bathroom renovations don’t come cheap.

So, do I go ahead and gut the bathroom and start from scratch? Or do I salvage what I can and update only what is necessary? I’m torn. Some days, I am ready to demo the old outdated bathroom and other days I think a fresh coat of paint, new light fixture and vanity will do.

But then the little voice returns.

A newly renovated bathroom will increase the value of my home. Which leads me down another path and another question, do I sell or do I stay?

8 thoughts on “To renovate or not to renovate?

  1. From what I can tell from your picture, your current bathroom doesn’t look bad so it depends how much you use the downstairs bathroom and if you’re going to sell. Although buyers are looking for nice bathrooms, they’re concentrating on the upstairs and if the basement bathroom is acceptable, maybe all it needs is a refresh rather than a gut, and you’re better off using the money on e.g. your kitchen — another key selling feature and widely-used room. (You didn’t mention if you renovated your kitchen or not.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Barb and your option to paint and replace a few fixtures. (Also consider replacing the door with an opaque glass french door for more light). I did a reno two years ago in the basement, as we just had a toilet in the laundry room. The work included a tub. I didn’t open the floor so the bath is sitting on a platform. Way too much time, and hassle, wish I hadn’t gone the full suite route, but it’s done. It did give me the option of gutting the tiny upstairs bath last year and putting in a walk-in shower tho…but I digress. If you’re going to gut, do you have the space and money too add a shower stall to make it worth your while? Otherwise, I vote modern update with just the cosmetics. Spend the $ in your other bath or kitchen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Knowing next to nothing, okay nothing, about renovations I can say that the vanity walls and light fixture aren’t too shabby. It’s the sink that’s bothering you, no? THAT being said…the bathroom looks pretty good – for a basement bathroom. You should see the basement bathroom in my Mom’s house – yikes. And ask yourself this: does that bathroom get a lot of traffic? As for your Love It or List It dilemma…that would all depend on the numbers…years you’ve been there…market rate…square footage vs. number of occupants…etc. etc. Some say it’s never a good idea to let go of a property. Especially a house.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would definitely replace the vanity and faucet. The light fixture isn’t terrible, but it is quite dark in the bathroom, so I would consider installing some pot lights. I am browsing real estate listings to get a better idea of what’s out there and the going rates.

    Like

Leave a Reply

